Beginnings

25 Jun

Each of us has our own journey in cycling. We all experience pivotal moments that determine what our path will be. One of those moments for me was getting my first job that paid me a wage, and was outside the realm of mowing lawns and doing chores. I was 14 years old the year that I started working at the Bicycle Outfitter in Harrison AR. If my Parents would have know what the ultimate outcome of this summer job would be I’m sure they never would have let me start.

I had already been riding for a few years before starting to work there and, like most teenagers, I thought I knew everything there was to know about bikes. Monty and Mary helped open my eyes to how big the world of cycling really is. Their experience in the industry is vast and their work ethic is superb.

I recently was back in Harrison and stopped to see them. These are some pics from that day.

The storefront has changed little in the last twenty years.

The storefront has changed little in the last twenty years.

Bicycle Outfitter was very active on the 90's

Bicycle Outfitter was very active on the 90’s

This is the same bench I learned to adjust cantilever bikes on.

This is the same bench I learned to adjust cantilever brakes on.

They always have an immaculate sales floor

They always have an immaculate sales floor

Im not even sure you can get parts for this vintage of ark stand anymore. I wonder how many bikes Monty has built / fixed here?

Im not even sure you can get parts for this vintage of ark stand anymore. I wonder how many bikes Monty has built / fixed here?

Monty oversaw my first wheel build. The stand was different then but the location is the same.

Monty oversaw my first wheel build. The stand was different then but the location is the same.

For all you tech geeks this needs so explanation. For the rest of you... It needs no explanation.

For all you tech geeks this needs so explanation. For the rest of you… It needs no explanation.

Their website is worth reading if you have time. The Bicycle Outfitter

Thanks for reading.

Branton

Leave a Reply

