71 Classic (Well, Sort of)

7 Mar

The 2011 version of the 71 classic went off last Sunday. Of course Highroller was on hand to be a part of this great event and support the BicycleCoalitionoftheOzarks. (BCO)

The line at sign up. The BCO raised over 2K dollars!

Some of the Uof A team. Good to see them out.

The event is one that I love. I missed the 2010 edition, so I was very happy to be able to roll down the hill and join the fun. I like the classic because it has a very relaxed vibe. It is called by some the first “unofficial” race of the NWA scene, but it doesn’t have the uptight air that many other local races can have. Riders of all types are welcome and encouraged to join in.

Wide shoulders and beautiful views all the way to MTNBURG

Because of all the different levels of riders there are also a plethora of uniquie bicycles to look at. Lets see if I can remember them all… NOPE! But there were enough cool ones to keep Sam and I busy running around the start area checking them all out. We took pics of some of our favorites.

The headtube on this one was longer than the fork!

Councilman Petty and his bike.

This guy rolled up and parked next to me. DOWNTUBE SHIFTERS!!

Some AXELS OF EVIL riders came down too. A dog rode in the trailer.

As usual, when Laura Kelly said roll out the local strongman team “Snapple” moved to the front and kept everyone else in check. I rode with my teammates at the front for a while. We were keeping the pace surprisingly tame and no-one really even contested the Greenland sprint sign. Thinking I had the legs to roll off the back and check on some of my other friends; I drifted back through the various groups on the road. I enjoyed seeing all the local riders mixing with new people from out of town. Once I realized the pace up ahead had sped up I tried to make the jump back up to the lead group but it was too late. My 700*34 cyclocross tires just wouldn’t let me do it.

Outside of West Fork

The creeks were a beautiful green.

I wasn’t too upset, though. I continued to see other people I don’t normally ride with,and eventually ran across Quin. He passed me while I was taking a picture of a stream running by the side of the road. I had to chase him down to catch up, and was relieved to see he was also on his cross bike. We were coming up on the Green Bridge and I suggested we go check out a road I had not done before. He was game and we ended up doing a good little gravel road riding and seeing some amazing views of I540.

Quin and a cool View of I540

We arrived back at the Start after about 32 miles. It was just after 11. It was not the ride I had planned but it suited me just fine. I heard later that the pace kept rising and it was a pretty fast ride. “Snapple killed it” said Jason Beebe. Good thing I couldn’t make it back to the group. I would have just gotten dropped later anyway.

I was already worked and wondered why my whole body was feeling tired. I just shrugged it off to poor early season form (That and the 40 psi i was running- I always preach to people how important it is to check your tire pressure but I just cant seem to remember to do it myself) I chatted with Cindy Creel for a minute before rolling back home. She and Sue Taylor were about to start off. Smart idea because the temps at that point were climbing into the mid fifties. Also smart because Sue’s front brake on her new tri bike was rubbing. I was able to tighten the binder nut on the back side of the fork (which was scarily loose), recenter the brake, and get her rolling again.

Once I got home I started felling pretty bad. It was apparent that I had a fever and I just relaxed the rest of the day. I was so happy to have been able to go out and ride though. Thanks BCO for a great event.

Thanks for reading.
Branton

4 Responses to “71 Classic (Well, Sort of)”

  1. phuong March 8, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    You are the MAN!!! Sorry I did not get to see you out there. Talked to Sam on the way down to MT berg.

    phuong

  2. QuinT March 11, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    you know i felt the same way. Monday was rough, like i did the full 75 that i had planned. I chalk it up to too much spring sun.

  3. Alan March 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I followed Phuong for the first 12 miles and finally got blown out the back. Love the 71 Classic, but just to early for me to be keeping up with the lead group.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013 Hwy 71 Classic (Dirty Version) | The Highroller Cyclery Blog - March 11, 2013

    […] history and the rides that inspired the Gravel Grinder option check out these two previos posts. Well Sort Of and Dirty Version […]

Leave a Reply

